Bones, Roses, and Random Things

 

I was bored and procrastinating a bit (don’t worry I’m still working on the second draft of Niko 3, I just spent a little time binge watching Attack on Titans), and I decided to compile a list (list= a Virgo’s best friend ) of some random facts that you may not know about the first book in the Outsider Chronicles.

Itadakimasu!

1 Names

Names are everything, they can make a person sound cool, they can make a person sound sinister, and when you’re creating characters names are especially important so here are some things you may not have known about the names in Niko.

Niko’s last name was originally Nickel.

Ben was originally called Chris (this default name only lasted for three chapters though… phew!)

Duc’s (pronounced ‘duke’) name is Vietnamese and means ‘desire’

The Director’s name is actually Sarah Lytle

Niko’s full name is Harmony Ann Niko

The Circle of the Guard was originally going to be named after flowers instead of colors

 

2 Media

When I write my stories are always filled with random references, sometimes their basically super, super inside jokes (I’m lame) but other times those references come in handy when I’m writing scenes. Other times they’re just… random.

The theme song for Niko is Wonderland by Natalia Kills

The movie Ultraviolet was the inspiration for chapters 6-8

When Ari and Ben mention rat creatures and quiche in chapter 5 they are referencing Bone by Jeff Smith

The song that Malik plays for Niko in chapter 9 is Baby Love by The Supremes

Chapters 21-22 have their own theme song, And Counting… by LIGHTS

 

3 Book Influences

Because what would an author be if they weren’t influenced by books?

 

The Turned by Jillian Leigh (Known as Avid Reader on Story Write) inspired me to start writing Niko. Her story isn’t online anymore but if it wasn’t for her Niko would not exist in its present form.

The Demon’s Lexicon trilogy by Sarah Rees Brennan, if you were wondering why the humor in Niko is so weird blame her. (just kidding, my humor is weird too).

Slice of Cherry by Dia Reeves, if I only had one book in the world it would be this one. It’s dark and bloody, sexy and strange and exactly how I want my writing to be like.

Bleach by Tite Kubo, it’s a manga but if I can write my fight scenes half as well as he draws them I’d be one happy camper.

 

4 Zombiefication

I love killing off characters and in a dystopian world that means more deaths to plot (rubs hands excitedly). But since there would be no story if I killed off everybody (though George R. R. Martin seems to manage well enough) I usually solve this dilemma by tossing a coin (not an American one, I know which side that it’s statistically more than likely to fall on and will cheat #nerdproblems).

So without further ado here are the people who managed to survive the culling.

For now. Mwah ha ha.

 

Jared was going to die instead of Shawn

Ben was going to die instead of Malik

Ari was going to die but she has nine lives and won her coin toss

 

5 Ages

The age of the characters in Niko isn’t discussed much. They’ve got more important things to worry about, like killing Slithers and surviving coin tosses. But in case you’re curious…

Ari is 22

Duc is 23

Ben is 22

Malik was 20

Niko is 17

 

And there you have it folks! That was kind of fun (liiiiiiiiists), I might do one for Harm, the second book in the Outside Chronicles. It might be a while before I do it but then again, I procrastinate a lot so it might be here sooner than expected. 😛

5 thoughts on “Bones, Roses, and Random Things

  1. First of all, I love a good list. Secondly, this one is awesome because 1) it includes such cool information about a book I love, 2) gives some insight into you as a writer and individual and 3) is a list comprised of lists which makes my little list-loving heart so freaking happy. Bravo Kayti. You’re all kinds of awesome.

Leave a Reply

