Writing and music inspiration AKA A Love Song in Wonderland after Rigormortis

I was talking to a friend a little while ago and we happened to be talking about music (okay, I’ll admit it, I was trying to get her into k-pop or LIGHTS ^^;) which lead to me telling her how I like to have a theme song for each book in the Outsider Chronicles.

I don’t usually use music to get me into the mood of the story, before it was mostly to hype me up and make me write faster (other than that I like working in silence. . . SHHH!) but with Niko and Harm, music was a great way to get into the mood and essence of the story as a whole. So without further ado, I give you the theme for Niko

Image

WONDERLAND

I actually love Natalia Kills whole Perfectionist album, and if you listen to it you’ll discover I pay some slight homage to it in Niko. But Wonderland is a song I felt fit Niko perfectly, the mood, the fact that she’s entering a whole new and maybe just a little bit weird place, the slight anti-romance romance, its bright veneer but dark underbelly, and as my friend pointed out it even has roses.

 

Image

RIGAMORTIS

Kendrick Lamar might seem a bit of an odd choice, and while the song doesn’t fit plot-point for plot-point in Harm, it had this fast, slick, sarcastic vibe I wanted to employ. Also since rigor it what happens after death, just before rot and decay, I wanted to use that to hint and old perceptions changing and dying with a rebirth of something new.

 

Image

LOVE SONG

For the third book I chose a sadder song, but it’s also a song who’s title hints at what’s gonna go down in book three (:-3) but after reading the lyric translation also sounds a little sad and ominous. Of course since Outsider still isn’t complete yet, I don’t want to get into too much detail and spoil it all. Don’t worry guys, not too many people die >:D

Leave a Reply

